Group Work: Does Anyone Like It???

I find it funny that most of us do not like group work… yet we do see the value in it. I am guilty of having students do plenty of it, and they probably hated it too. It makes me wonder whether I have sufficiently prepared students with the appropriate strategies for working in a group, or is the struggle part of the learning experience? I can’t help but think there is something more I should be doing to facilitate the process.

I found this video on the 1-3-6 strategy for group work. I like that it starts off with individual work and then progressively moves to larger group work to expand and deepen understanding. I might give this a try next time I have the urge to have students do group work.

Leave a Reply

